Poems

By The River

By the river sits my heart and,
being a heart, bleeds into the rain.
In counter-point run the sable
rivulets of nights, the star-infected
blanket of evening.

By the river sits my heart and,
being a river, it sings into the rain.
In reverent harmony run the sable
shoulders of nights, the star-emblazoned
scarf of vespers.

By the river sits my heart and,
being a human, I cry into the rain.
In distant company run the sable
embraces of nights, the star-adorned
enfolding of a midnight tide.

By the end sits my heart and,
being who I am, I whisper to the rain.
Listening intently sits the sable
song of nights, the star-punctured
intonation of dying light.

Standard

Leave a Reply

