Poems

Denial of Death / Eden Kupermintz

I enter, while to the left
a whisper of dust blows
into the path of a column of light.
The right is filled with the good intentions
of well-meaning dandelions that beckon
for brown eyes to look.
But my path is fixed, conviction is iron
and my paces are measured precisely.

I am entered, while to the left
a flicker of light tells
of a love that feels for me.
The right is filled with good intentions
of well-meaning friends that respect
my brown eyed gaze.
But my path is fixed, conviction is iron
and my heart’s paces are measured precisely.

I fill the entrance, while to the left
a feeling of horror belies
the realization that is dawning.
The right is filled with good intentions
of my well-meaning denials
that blocked my brown eyes from looking.
But my path is fixed, conviction is iron
and the denial of my death is measured precisely.

Standard

Leave a Reply

